Protecting Data with Backup Migrate

Protecting Data with Backup Migrate

One of the most important items to address in Drupal is database backups and migrations. Storing backups of your website is vital. The sad reality is that your server may experience a disaster at anytime; and such occurrences are impossible to predict. While developing a site, you may want to work on a local server or under a test domain so customers don’t see the unfinished product. The ‘Backup & Migrate’ module can easily handle both situations as it makes database restoration or switching servers a breeze.

You may find the module here. After you have installed and enabled the module, you must check the configuration settings to ensure the module will work properly. The configuration can be found on the configuration page under the System heading.

If you have not already set up a private file folder, you will see a warning to do so. Setting up this private folder must be configured for the module to work properly. If Drupal requires, follow the link and set up the folder. Once that is complete, you can return to the configuration page, where you’ll find several tabs.

Configuration Tabs

Here’s a breakdown of the configuration tabs you’ll notice on the next page:

1. Backup [Default Tab]: Make a quick backup with default settings or an advanced backup.
2. Restore: Upload backup or migrate files. Restoring will write over your current database tables, so you may want to try the backup first on a test site.
3. Destinations: Allows you to set a location where files will be saved to or uploaded from. You may also manage previous backup files on this page.
4. Profiles: Saved backup settings. You may use profiles for scheduled or manual backups so that your settings will be the same every time.
5. Schedules: Set a scheduled time to automatically backup your Drupal site. This feature is recommended to ensure you can restore your site at any time.

The quick backup tab allows you quickly and easily make a database backup of your site
and download it to your computer. The default settings are generally perfect for your backup.

One thing to note is the table data to exclude. Unless you know precisely what you are doing, let Backup & Migrate exclude the table data. Normally you will not want to exclude any tables completely, as this tends to break the Drupal installation. It is recommended to put the site into maintenance mode so that no changes occur while you’re backing up the database.

Restoring Data

Restoring data is as simple as uploading a previously-created backup file with the Backup & Migrate module on the restore tab. Database backup files from other programs, such as phpMyAdmin, will not work.

Site Migration

Use the Backup & Migrate module to move your development sites to your live server, or when you switch between hosting companies. It’s simple and takes just a few steps.

Start by downloading a backup of the current site. Then, create a basic installation in the new location and install Backup & Migrate. Finally, restore to the new site within the Backup & Migrate module. All of your data, including settings, will then be in the new location.

Uploaded File Backups

A great submodule for Backup & Migrate is Backup & Migrate Files which can be found here.

This module is essential for a complete site backup as it archives and compresses your files. This compression is important when you consider the huge directory of images, documents and uploaded-files inserted into your website over time.

Together, these modules simplify the process of backing up, restoring and migrating multiple Drupal websites. And they allow you to backup on a schedule which provides peace of mind you won’t lose all of your data in the event of a server catastrophe.